Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|11/19/05 at 02:01:39|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Well, I s'pose I better kick this one off...

Most recent film I saw (Recent as in released, not viewed) was:


[u][/u]DOOM

Yup, the adaptation of the computer game/s.

As most of you probably have rounded, fulfilling lives, and haven't wasted your years so far in the twin pursuits of video gaming and awful film watching, I'll give you a little backround.

In the original games, you play a marine sent to a research base on Mars, after distress calls are recieved.
You get there and discover it's all gone a bit pear shaped, a portal to hell has been opened and pretty much everyone has been killed.

If you have trouble imagining this, picture a provincial town, say, Reading, at kick-out time on a Friday night.
But without the illegal minicabs willing to shuttle you to safety for an inflated price.

Anyway, the game is a first person shooter, (Your hands, holding a gun. Amazingly therapeutic game playing after a days work) and was a fairly relentless stream of demons, monsters, zombies and things that were a blend of all.

Walk down corridors, open a door, shoot things. Great.

The film has...

...Changed the story, so it's biological, rather than supernatural, thus Instantly dissapointing a large proportion of potential viewers.

...That guy, 'The Rock' as its lead. He's not the hero, but blah blah blah. Seriously, if you're called 'The Rock', is that a name that inspires confidence in your acting ability? Surely, a bit like hearing:

"That's the worse case of appendicitis I've ever seen! We have to get you into the operating theatre immediately. Nurse, call surgeon William Shakydrunk".


He is to acting what George Bush jnr is to progressive, left wing social policy. Having said that, I've seen him interviewed and he honestly seems like a modest, pleasant guy. The Rock, that is, not George W.
And, I'm not gay, but I kinda would. Again, The Rock, not George.

...A director called Andrzej Bartkowiak.
He is responsible for a suprising number of films that even the most casual of film fans would have seen.
(http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0005647/)
These include:

Thirteen Days.   A good, if a little rose tinted, look at the Cuban missile Crisis. Blimey, am I glad I wasn't around for that one!

Gossip.  An awful addition to the late 90's arseload of teen slasher films.

Speed. Keanu Reeves. A bus. A bomb.

Falling Down. A fantastically cynical film about how the small, pesky irritations in life can grow into a large, life changing problem.

The Devils Advocate. Keanu Reeves. A law Firm. Al Pacino as Satan. No bomb.


So, anyway, you kind of get the idea that as a director, he's only as good as the screenplay he's handed. Something which could probably be fairly said of alot of 'em, but hey, he seems particually guilty of this cinematic prostitution.

Ok, I'll admit, this has all gone a bit off subject, but well, I've never reviewed a film before, so I hope it's at least readable.

To conclude ('cos I've already taken up far too much of your time)...

...It's a film aimed at adolescent boys, who are feeling particually undiscerning about what they blitz some neurons with that night. Which doesn't make a great deal of sense, considering it has some certification prohibitive gory effects.

Also, it doesn't have any boobs.
(Yes, I'm afraid when the film is that shallow, so am I.)

Sorry if I've waffled, like I said, it's my first attempt at ever reviewing a film in my 30 years.

Cheers.
R.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|11/21/05 at 21:35:26|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Just seen 'SAW II', rather average, not as good as the first although tries to link the two movies but after the initial shock of the first movie, the sequel is rather a damp squib that just ends up as a teen slasher movie.

Brit films are far better, i.e 'The Descent'.
Anybody got any video nasties!!??|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Richard_F|richard@cfz.org.uk|11/21/05 at 22:14:29|richard_f|xx|0|86.128.156.116|The Decent is the best horror i've seen in ages.

If you could choose ten horror films for a horror season on TV what would they be?

Here's mine

1. Q The Winged Serpent
2. Theater of Blood
3. The Night Stalker
4. Quatermass and the Pit
5. The Decent
6. Lair of The White Worm
7. Ginger Snaps
8.Shadow of the Vampire
9.Phantom of the Opera (Lon Chaney silent)
10.Nosfarato (Max Shrek silent)

And the top ten TV shows
1.Doctor Who
2.Batman the Animated Series
3.The Prisoner
4.Kolchack the Night Stalker
5. Quatermass
6.Saphire and Steel
7.The Nightmare Man
8.Tales of the Unexpedted
9.The Outer Limits (origional)
10. The Twilight Zone (Rod Serling)|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|11/22/05 at 00:29:21|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Top Ten Horror Films?! NOW YER TALKING!!!! ;D

Oh my gosh! Where to start!

Well, number one would be good.

1.(There you go) Day Of The Dead. (Filmed 1985, released 1986 (All dates are from memory, so excuse any wrong 'uns))

Now, I could at this point waffle on, almost endlessly about how the modern contributions to the zombie genre have actually been a fairly regressive move. Turning them from amusing, gory, character based fun, with occasional social commentary, into something bordering on the standard teen horror fair.
Notable exceptions being 28 Days Later, Dawn Of The Dead 2004 and the first half of Shaun Of the Dead. (I seem to be in the minority on this one. It was great for the first hour, but then went off on an entirely innapropriate "serious" tangent. Why did the jokes just completely dry up? Why does it have to have the plain disturbing 'killing his own mum' bit? Why, if suddenly aiming for an air of realism, do we have to have an heroic, redemptive ending? Having said that, it does have the funniest joke involving a disposible camera that will ever be created.)

Anyway, back on subject, Day Of The Dead. Of the original Romero zombie trilogy

(I'm not even gonna include Land Of The Dead. What a pile of popcorn dissapointment that was. Ok, Dennis "The rampant Ham" Hopper playing a guy who is quite obviously a parody of George W. was quite funny, but that aside...)

most horror fans have a real filmic woody for the original Dawn Of The Dead. I've never understood this. The soundtrack (cheers Dario, great input.) is dated to the point of embarassment. It's not camp, or ironically enjoyable. It's just awful. The actucing is, well, pretty damned forced. Real 'cue card' stuff. The effects, as admitted by Tom Savini (one of my absolute personal heroes) in his "Grande Illusion" books, are pants. The editing is rapid and jumpy, in places to the point of incoherance. And, the thing that really gets me is the the argument that its shopping mall setting is a critique on the expanding, late 70's consumer culture (stateside at least, things were not so economically rosy over here)... Well, if you listen to the various commentarys and interviews on the film available, Romero himself states that the mall location was only chosen because a his original location choice fell through, and a friend of his worked there and got clearance.

I could spend equal, if not a greater amount of space disecting Night Of The Living Dead, but I think it is a much better film, albeit with some equally questionable acting. The ending however is great and still shocking 36 years later.

Day Of The Dead? Well, for a start, the budget was slightly higher,of course, never a yardstick of quality, but it did allow for a slightly greater creative freedom. The effects, especially in this modern CGI age, remain outstanding, shocking and realistic. Often imitated, and to my mind, never bettered. You know any film that starts with 'Dr Tongue' is gonna just get better.
The cast of central characters is larger, yet strangely each one of them is better realised than in the previous two films. I think the script shows this. Espcially evident in the helicopter pilot.

"You could do that, with all that's going on, just fly off and leave us here?"

"I could do that if all this Wasn't going on."

Being set in an echoey, dark, cavenerous nuclear missile silo (I admit, a nod to the times. Mid 80's cold war etc) it has a pre created atmosphere of tension and claustraphobia that has rarely been equaled.
The film starts of simmering (before the bodies start mounting up, the cast are divided roughly equally between scientists/civilians and trigger happy military grunts.) and by the end is boiling over. The conflict of personalities is convincing and, in the situation, highly believable. although only twenty years old, we are thankfully spared so many of the things that define modern horror:

Pointless love story sub-plots.

Slow mo, "Matrixy" or just plain trixy camera techniques.

Heroic, redemptive final acts by persons previously unsympathetic.

Sarah Michelle Gellar.

Although, as you can probably guess, I could go on about this film for many scrolling pages, as a final note, I will mention 'Bub' the zombie. Possibly the only time you will ever feel an emotional attatchment to one of the walking dead. Honestly, the scene when he tries to show the doctor his broken chain is a tear-jerking moment. If you happen to have a soft spot for middle aged men. Who are dead. Guess I do.


Ok, I'll try and cut the reasons for my nominations down a bit, but horror films are one of my primary passions in life, so apologies if I ramble...


2. Dog Soldiers. (2002)
Now, for all my rantings about George W., I'm not in any way anti American. They have contributed some amazing things to our life, language and culture (see various entries on this list) The average Joe/Joette stateside is no better or worse than us. Such attitudes are surely the ignorance we all claim to dispise in thier current leader?

However, in Dog Soldiers it is so fu**ing refreshing to see the British miltary portrayed in a positive, realistic way (in the sense that they are all normal blokes, doing a job. Regional accents and convincing in-jokes, bickering, footie conversation etc) as apposed to narrow shoulderd spivs who are grovelley subserviants to the square jawed American heroes.
If any Americans read this, please don't take offence. I can list you twenty exapmles of this from recent films alone.

To put it another way, this film fu**ing rocks! Funny, gory, funny again, well shot, superb character depth for what it is, AWESOME special effects, funny once more and scary. I love it and normally have a viewing at least once every few weeks. Top stuff!


3.American Werewolf in London. (1980)
See, I don't dislike Americans at all, I actively enjoy it when their students come over here and slughter us. Espcially people in a Soho porn theatre watching a Linzi Drew film.

The Rick Baker effects (OK, I admit, I'm a complete effects bitch... It's my dream job), like D.O.T.Dead remain absolutely mind blowing.

The noise the thing makes on the moors at the start? Brown trouser-tastic! If the film ended there, I'd still be scared!

The scene in the underground, when you finally see the heaving, predatory shape move towards the immobilised through fear commuter... Double brown trouser. Scary, scary, scary!


4. Freaks (1932)
Never been able to decide if the use of real life circus "freaks" in this film is horrendously exploitative/offensive, or just disturbing on some other, deeper level.

Dunno.

See it and decide.

It was banned for decades in the UK(before the bullsh**, reactionary video nasties crap of the 80's). Probably tells us something?

The end is particually troubling.


5.28 Days Later. (2002)

As someone who was unfortunate enough to grow up in the self-important, dirt and crime ridden, cesspit that is central London, who couldn't wait to escape the place, I have to admit, the opening scenes of this film are flippin' special!

As for the scariest? Wow! That tire changing in the tunnel bit takes some beating.

Loses alot of points, however, for its portrayal of the military as a bunch of desperate rapists. Offensive. Why? Why do they have to bring such an unlikely angle to the plot?

Picture yourself as a soldier (hard for me as a life long pacifist, oddly) in a special forces unit.
Trained to an elitist standard.
Prepared for pretty much anything, including, one would hope, for a civil emergency of a national scale.

Would you:

A.Designate a safe base. Fortify it. Seek connection with other survivors. Ensure supplies for a potentially long period of time, for both yourself and an unknown quantity of others. Fall back on your training to try and establish order and communication accross the land?

B.Designate a safe base. Fortify it. Abduct women to rape them?

Bloody horrid.

Such a shame, as the first half of the film is an all time horror classic, and if the second half ahd been better, it would probably have been my fave ever.


6. Threads.(1984)
Although not a 'horror' film in the strict definition, it is, without doubt, the scariest film I've ever seen.

Even more so when you consider that while certain people are in power, it could all too easily become relevant again very quickly.

I wont go into a great descriptive about this one, all I'll say is, I believe it's recently been, or very soon to be re-released onto DVD. See it. You will never forget it.


7.Nosferatu.(1922)
Yeah, we all know some small changes were made as this was orginally intended to be a pretty straight re-telling of the Dracula story, but due to threats/pressure from the Stoker estate (Bram Stoker died a broken, insane man. What a kick in the plums!) but the film they finished up with has some imagery which can still chill over 80 years later.

It's a cliche, but that rising horizontal from the coffin thing still works, and this film was here first.

Willem Dafoe is brilliantly cast in the greatly fun alternative story of the film "Shadow Of The Vampire" (2000).

The endings a bit toilet though.


8. Dead End.(2003 (I think))
Bit of a hidden gem.

I once lent my copy of this to a woman I worked with at the time. She thought I was normal up until then. I had to convince her I still was afterwards. I didn't believe it either.

A small, slowish and subtle film. One of the few I've watched as a desensitised adult that has actually chilled me. I'd love to say which part in particular, but if any of you have had the endurance to read down this far, and you haven't seen it, I don't wanna spoil it for you.

Again though, annoyingly, the ending is a total cop-out.


9.From Dusk Till Dawn.
Ok, not at all scary, but the fun factor is WAY up there...
...Blah, blah, blah. OK, it's the Salama Hyek dance thing.

Blimey, if I wasn't in a respectable cinema when I first saw that scene...
As this is a forum accesable by people of all ages, I feel it would be wrong to put into words the effect that one scene had on me. All I'll say is, upon buying the DVD, I was de-hydrated for about a month.

It also has Danny Trejo (The worlds most intimidating looking actor, ever*TM) making the best use of his scary face I've ever seen. (Trivia: Those tattoos of his are real jailhouse tattoos, and the life he's had really does fit his face. For further details, read the autobiography of the late, great, Eddie Bunker.)


10. Alive Inside. (Ongoing.)

Yup, it's my own peice of crap addition to horror cinema history.

So far it show promise as being the most unintentionally hilarious guff-cloud of a film ever. If anyone is interested (either in ever seeing it, or indeed, being in it(!)) I can email you the three minute trailer.

Great fun so far though.


Well, there you go.

I'm sorry for rambling on in what might well be the most indulgent post ever put on here, but, as I said a number of times, horror films are a serious passion of mine.

If anyone has read all of this, thanks for your endurance.

Richard. ;D
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|11/22/05 at 09:00:40|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|Perkin, I nearly peed my pants reading your reviews, it was a great start to my day.
I'd love to see the trailer to your film by the way!|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Richard_F|richard@cfz.org.uk|11/22/05 at 18:29:06|richard_f|xx|0|86.128.83.87|Bugger, i forgot to put 28 Days Later on my top ten. It's great. It reminds me very much of Day of the Triffids (the book and BBC series not the shitty film). I should have put Day of the Triffids in the top ten TV list as well. Thats the problem with these things you remember suff after you've posted.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|11/24/05 at 14:01:21|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|This I found more difficult than answering what my favourite underwear was! I’ve had to omit loads obviously. I’ve been a huge horror fan since I can remember but the problem is that I like good horror films, but I also love bad ones. My parents allowed me to watch any horror film I wanted since I was tiny (and I turned out alright, honest, I don’t twitch…much) so I was allowed to watch as many decapitations as I wanted yet whenever there was a kiss on screen I was made to cover my eyes, go figure. On my list I’ve left out films that I think are brilliant, because I’ve based some of my choices on not only how good they are, and whether they scared/entertained me, but also on how groundbreaking they were, and the budget they had to make them. So here goes:

1-      The exorcist- I watched this one first when I was quite young and in Catholic school, so maybe this is why it’s had such a lasting effect on me, I’ve found this film scares the bejesus out of Catholics more than anyone else, and although I gave up on religion a long time ago, I still get the creeps every time I watch it. The scariest thing about it, and I think what WP Blatty wanted to convey, is not the scary makeup and voice, but the idea that there is an all-seeing God that stands by idly while atrocities happen to innocents. Or something along those lines.

2-      The Texas Chainsaw Massacre- Very tame compared to contemporary horror, but you need to place it in the context of when it was made, it opened the doors to sick horror film makers everywhere and revolutionised the way we think of horror films, i.e. they don’t need to have a complex plot or even make sense, they just need to scare us, and in horror, anything goes, there should be no rules and nothing should be taboo.

3-      Evil Dead- Bruce Campbell, chainsaws, over-excited trees, the use of a pencil as a deadly weapon.

4-      Hellraiser- I’m a big fan of Clive Barker and the way he managed to intertwine death and sex was very Freudian in a kinky sort of way, I also loved Rawhead Rex, another film based on a Clive Barker short story, even though it was crap (the film, not the story).

5-      Ringu-I watched this one quite early on, before it was properly released in the UK, it was a grainy crappy VHS copy, which added to the ambience. Loved it the first time I saw it and still do, although I think the awful sequels and remakes have detracted from its mystique. This one I think is particularly important because it proved that you don’t need loud or creepy music to tell the audience when they should get scared, and the long periods of silence add to the tension. Also in the same style, ‘A tale of two sisters’ was fantastic. Ju-on was also good yet less atmospheric than the other two.

6-      Braid dead- The film that Peter Jackson will really be remembered for. Sumatran rat monkey, zombie babies, the scene with the custard…this is what all cinema should be like.

7-      Cabin Fever- This one I decided to add just because of the potential Eli Roth shows, he pushes the envelope of what should be acceptable in horror cinema and he shows that you don’t need to have likeable characters or a happy ending. He’s just done a film called ‘hostel’ with collaboration from Quentin Tarantino, looking forward to that one.

8-      The Blair Witch Project- I know lots of people who hate this one with a passion. I love it because it managed to do with a budget of around 30 grand what films with budgets of millions didn’t, scare the hell out of me.  If you take away all the hype and the pretending to be a real story, you end up with a simple, scary, back to basics film.

9-      The thing- John Carpenter at his best, the paranoia factor is the best part about it, but the spider-legged head also helps.

10-      Phenomena- I’m a big fan of Dario Argento, and although this is not his best one (Suspiria is probably better) it’s my personal favourite mainly because it has the best ending of any film ever made.
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Richard_F|richard@cfz.org.uk|11/24/05 at 14:30:07|richard_f|xx|0|86.138.244.4|On a budget of thirty grand i could have done a danm sight better than Blair Witch Project. The Care Bear Movie is more frightening.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Plymouthcrypto|Cmoiser@aol.com|11/24/05 at 16:26:45|plymouthcrypto|xx|0|195.93.21.67|I can't really think of 10 films (its an age thing...) but to my mind one of the best horror films was the original Michael Mann production Manhunter.
The first of the Hannibal Lecter films, with Brian Cox as Lecter, and an almost amateur nature to it - as if some one is filming part of the investigation for a documentary. This though adds to the attraction of it.

Whilst I like Hopkins as Lecter it would have been fascinating if they had made the whole series with Cox as Lecter, and in a way more frightening.

As for comedy - the South African comedian Leon Schuster made a film about a white sangoma (medicine man/ native healer) called "Mr. Bones". It has everything - pigs dropping out of the sky, accidental overdoses of laxatives, golfers chased by lions, and a mix of old and new South Africa. Unfortunately you can only get the DVD here as an import.

Schuster has done the South African equivalent of candid camera and makes a lot out of racism without being racist - some of his stuff might be transmitted here because of this, which shoa what idiots we are as white and black South Africans both love him (I'm not sure though that the white supremacists do though!).


Chris M.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|11/24/05 at 20:05:45|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Since the age of 13 I've collected thousands of obscure horror films and was (un)fortunate enough to have been able to watch such films at a very young age...not necessarily a good idea but hey, I've not killed anyone...yet! I think most modern films and also a majority of horror movies from the '80s were very poor and those made during the '50s, '60s and '70s were excellent. Unfortunately so many were banned for no apparent reason due to the 'nastie' scare and many great, atmospheric movies were lost...hopefully they'll be rediscovered and resurrected for DVD.

Top Ten horror movies...thats a tough one, but, in no order they are:

1) Texas Chainsaw Massacre.

I just don't think today's audience understand a majority of the atmosphere in movies such as 'TCM'. I think 'Blair Witch...' attempted to recreate such an atmosphere but failed even though I liked the film. 'TCM' is pure horror, very realstic.

2) Halloween.

The 'king' of the slasher movies.

3) Nosferatu.

Amazingly filmed and atmospheric chiller still well ahead of its time and with one of the creepiest screen stars ever.

4) Hound Of The Baskervilles

Not exactly a horror but the b&w classic with Basil Rathbone is the creakiest chiller.

5) The Woman In Black

Truly terrifying English ghost story taken from Susan Hill's spooky book. Apparently deleted now but it well worth seeking out, I saw this about 1:00 am many Christmases ago and it's a true nerve wrecker, a classy and atmospheric chiller akin to the power of the M.R. James ghost story.

6) Salem's Lot

I've always had a soft spot for the 3-hour tv version, there was always something about this movie which made me build my own wooden crucifix at the age of nine!

7) Night Of The Living Dead

The original '60s version is pure horror, it makes the undead rising from the grave scenario very realistic. 'Dawn Of The Dead' and also 'Day...' were superb also.

8) The Exorcist

Still a very powerful movie.

9) The Night Stalker

Who gives a damn about the 'X Files' when you've got this '70s detective horror gem and the series were simply magnificent.

10) Les Frisson De Vampires


Pure '60s psychedelic sexy vampire pleasure. This is THE film I'd want to be in...1960s styled women, men in frilled shirts and cravats, dark, foggy graveyards, candelabra's and hammond organ music. Doesn't make a bit of sense as a film but this is supreme surreal horror.

Plus, can also recommend, The Descent, Saw, 28 Days Later, Killer's Moon (obscure creepy '70s banned film), The Addiction, Evil Dead, Rosemary's Killer, The Burning, Driller Killer (better than people think!), blah blah blah.

As for t.v....well, Twin Peaks, The Night Sralker series, Sapphire & Steel (the pillows are bleeding  :o  ) and BBC ghost stories taken from the works of M.R. James.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|11/25/05 at 00:07:47|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|"Ringu-I watched this one quite early on, before it was properly released in the UK, it was a grainy crappy VHS copy"...

Wow! If your phone had rung straight after, how scary would that have been! :o

"On a budget of thirty grand i could have done a danm sight better than Blair Witch Project. The Care Bear Movie is more frightening."...

I dunno, I think they worked the 'less is more' thing brilliantly in that. They later admitted that 'The Last Broadcast' (http://uk.imdb.com/title/tt0122143/  +  http://www.mrqe.com/lookup?The+Last+Broadcast) was a big influence. If you watch it, you can see it. Surely you agree that it was refreshing to see a film that, by Hollywood standards, was made on a dole cheque, topping the number one position quite pleasing? Having said that, If I ever have enough money, I'd happily give yer thirty grand to make a chiller ;D

Numerous mentions of The Exorcist. 30 years on, that still has some of the most freaky and disturbing imagery in mainstream cinema. There is a famous deleted scene (available on at least one of the DVDs) called 'The Spider Walk'. It's when Linda Blair walks down the stairs of her (mums) house on all fours, but bent over backwards, hands first. It is done in a deeply unsettling, frenetic, disjointed manner. I personally think, if left in, it would be the scariest scene in the film.

Eli Roth? I dunno, maybe it's his relentless, spoilt brat, mysoginist, frat boy persona, but it seems to taint everything he's associated with. I'm hoping hostel will be good, but the trailer (which is, or at least was, available on www.upcominghorrormovies.com) looks like another example of style of content so prevalent in modern horror.

The Thing. Wow! That film is absolutely mental. Another one which, at 25(?) years old, is a persuasive argument for handmade, crafted effects over CGI. It's brilliant. I think Keith David is a greatly inderrated actor (example being his "golden Rule" line in 'They Live')

Ahh, Mr Plymouth. Manhunter. I couldn't agree more. Brian Cox is THE definitive Lector. Cultured, cold, intelligent, narcisstic and savage. Far closer to the version in the books than Anthony HAMkins. Tom Noonan as the Tooth Fairy? Awesome! That film leaves me weeping like a child at the sheer beauty of it every time I see it.

"Pure '60s psychedelic sexy vampire pleasure. This is THE film I'd want to be in...1960s styled women, men in frilled shirts and cravats, dark, foggy graveyards, candelabra's and hammond organ music. Doesn't make a bit of sense as a film but this is supreme surreal horror."...
Are you Austin Powers?  :D (Obviously with better teeth and hair!)


I 'spose that's the best thing about horror, it's by far the most subjective of genres. What scares one person won't scare another. My friend Neil will happily walk accross a single scaffold plank, 70ft up in the air, whilst I tremble like a first-time-kisser on a step ladder. However, show the man a hyperdermic needle or a wasp and he goes pale enough to make Michael Jackson look dark skinned.

Another of my friends enjoys participating in high risk motor sports, yet if you mention air-flight (or healthy eating) he postively falls to the floor, weakly shouting for medical assistance. My point being is, peoples choice in horror films, above any other type of cinema, can never be right or wrong. It's an entirely personal journey. What scares me, may be comedy fodder for you.

Damn, to think, I was gonna come on here and review the last couple of films I've sat through, but I think I've rambled enough already.

Ta ta.
Richard.||11/25/05 at 00:09:18|perkin2000 Re: Film/TV reviews.|shearluck|lewisoll@yahoo.co.uk|11/25/05 at 02:25:24|shearluck|xx|0|62.253.96.47|I don't much go for horror films, I watch them and some I enjoy but it's not my favorate genre. I like the friday the 13th films, if you watch them as a series (and ignore jason goes to hell because it's crap) in the cronological  order of their setting (ie fready vs jason before jason X) it's facinating to see how Jason's caractor develops when at first glance if you just watch a ranom part of the series he just appears to be a standard issue unkillable zombie in a hockey mask that frrls no pain ans can walk faster than promisquous or drug taking teans with issues can run. The sattilite caractors in the series develop as well, a survivor from a previous Jason rampage may turn up 2 films later or in the next film older and in a pycheatric hospital. It's something that most series of slasher films try at one point but ionly really works well in friday the 13th. In halloween it dosen't work because jamie lee curtis's caractor is really quite dull and Myers dosen't develop enougth and in nightmare on elm street freddy is just too far fetched to be able to relate too the situation. there's also the look of the killer too, whats scarey about a white capain kirk mask when the killer could be wearing an impersonal mask like jason does [i]and[/i] be a munter underneath?

Anyway enougth of friday the 13th, my favorate horror films are resident evil 1 and 2, partially because i'm such a fan of the games and it's actully a good adaption which adds to the storyline of the games. || Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|11/25/05 at 02:32:55|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|The PS1 game of Resident Evil 2 still stands alone as a classic in the horror survival game world.

Those first twenty minutes, making your way through the city, into the police station? Fan-flippin'-marvellous!

My chum Dave and I once spent 11 hours playing Resident Evil "Survivor" (The PS1 lightgun game) continuously, in an attempt to finish it. We got to the final bad guy. We had him on the floor and ready to submit. He caught us with a crafty claw swipe. The game ended, we got sent back to a stage about three hours previously, due to our not saving.

We repeatedly kicked the small, grey Sony built box of torture, then went to the pub and got drunk.

Hoping my brother wouldn't notice the boot prints on his games console.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|shearluck|lewisoll@yahoo.co.uk|11/25/05 at 16:28:47|shearluck|xx|0|62.253.64.24|the resi where you make it to the police station was resi 2, with leon (later in resi 4) and clare (later in code veronica) one thing I like about the resi games is that with resi 0, 1, 2 and 3 you get to see what is going on off camera in the other games, for example, get to the underpass by the police station on resi 2 on hard mode without picking up any of that tempting ammo scattered around the place and you encounter the helicopter piolet and S.T.A.R.S. member Brad, who airlifted Jill, Rebecca, Chris and Barry from the mantion in resi 1 (provided you weren't a shandy and let them die). thing is brads a super powerful zombie now in a bullet proof jacket, how did he get to be a zombi? well you find out in resi 3 which follows Jills attempt to escape from Raccoon city as it shows him getting bitten and infected with the t-virus when he's with jill.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|11/25/05 at 21:15:47|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|I think that most of the terrifying films are'nt exactly horror and in my humble opinion, the films of David Lynch, being 'Twin Peaks: Fire Walk With Me, Eraserhead', 'Blue Velvet' and 'The Lost Highway' are deeply disturbing and prey on very real fears that can be as small as a dark corner of the room to childhood bogeymen emerging from the base of your bed. The same can be said for my obsession for zooform phenomena and urban legends which pertain to 'monsters' and strange creatures which are usually fictional, campfire creations.

The film that had the biggest effect on me as a kid has to be 'The Legend Of Boggy Creek' a shaky '70s docu-drama that 'Blair Witch..' and 'The Last Broadcast' owe their entire existence to. It's just the perfect example of the not-knowing what's out there. The same can be said for the BBC adaptations of M.R. James' 'Oh Whistle And I'll Come To You', this is true terror, whereas slasher movies and the likes simply provide jumps but no real horror.

It's a shame that there aren't any console games out there to provide any real horror. Playing 'Resident Evil' for the first time was a refreshing monent but not as a scare. Despite horror being very much back on the Hollywood menu I'm quite surprised there aren't more sinister games to grapple with.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|shearluck|lewisoll@yahoo.co.uk|11/26/05 at 02:50:23|shearluck|xx|0|62.255.32.17|oh how I jumped playing resi for the first time when it had just come out and those bloody dogs burst through the window  :-[|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|11/27/05 at 15:11:48|Mark_North|xx|0|86.140.69.83|If you could choose ten horror films for a horror season on TV what would they be?

As many have discovered a difficult choice to make, however I have somewhat cheated in my choice by putting them into genres, though I know that some do tend to cross genre.

Well here is my selection:

[b]Horror[/b]

1. The Fog
2. American Werewolf in London
3. Witchfinder General  
4. The Pit and the Pendulum
5. The Abominable Dr. Phibes
4. The Wolfman
5. The Brotherhood of the Wolf
7. Curse of the Demon
8. Bram Stoker's Dracula
9. Evil Dead II
10. Christine

[b]Science Fiction[/b]

1.John Carpenter's The Thing
2.The Invisibleman (claude Rains)
3.The Fly (the original)
4.Fritz Lang's Metropolis
5.Quatermass Experiment II
6.The First Men in The Moon
7.The Time Machine (George Pal's version)
8.The Village of the Dammed (both Carpenter's and the original)
9.The Boys from Brazil
10.Threads

[b]Fantasy[/b]

1. Jason and the Argonauts
2. Clash of the Titans
3. The Seventh Voyage of Sinbad
4. The Golden Voyage of Sinbad
5. The Valley of Gwangi
6. King Kong
7. Edward Scissorhands
8. Lord of the Rings Trilogy
9. Excalibar
10. Dragonslayer||11/27/05 at 15:13:27|Mark_North Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|12/01/05 at 01:27:38|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Tonight I have been mostly watching...

Unleashed (also known as "Danny The Dog")

Oh boy, where to start with this one, eh?

Well, the action scenes are amazing. Everything else is absolutely poo.

It's like a great idea for an action film (if that isn't something of an oxymoron) was thought up, then handed to a bunch of 12yr olds who still get excited by bus rides.

For those of you wise/lucky enough to miss this one, it's about Bob Hoskins (Hereafter referred to as "The Sweaty Cube", "S.C.", "Mario", "Fidgety Midget" or "Harold Shand") Glasgow based gang leader, who has trained Jet Li's character, The "Danny", since childhood to be a human attack dog. He has a collar round his neck. When worn, this keeps him completely docile, to the point of being amusingly pathetic.

When the collar is taken off though, oh boy! Arse whippings in every direction. (Not literal arse whippings. I'm not into that. Well, at least not between small yet powerful eastern men and rhomboid cockneys) The fight scenes are brutal, rapid, amazingly choreagraphed and have some superb sound effects.

Personally, speaking as a man who is about as much use in a fight as a pair of jelly handcuffs, I like the idea of a human pitbull watching my back. A few years ago, I worked in a pub, while not exactly rough, it was the regular drinker for a bunch of London gang memebers who you might have heard of, and quite often had a worrying undercurrent of menace. I don't mean drunken swearing and the occasional brawl, but something with greater longevity if you said the wrong thing. Anyway, my theory, whilst working there, was how great it would be to have your own Chewbacca. C'mon, think about it, you've got a combination of drinking buddy, fireside pet dog, and formidable protector all in one. In this film, Mr Li is a bit like that. But less furry.

But, and I say this as someone who generally finds action films a little retarded, there isn't enough of 'em.

This is a shame for two reasons.

1.The middle hour of the film, between fights, reeeeeeally drags. Lots of mushy balls. Morgan Freeman and his In-frickin'-credibly annoying daughter, find the damaged Danny and give him love, warmth, food and a change of pants.
Hey, some fresh fabric can really endear you to someone!

2. Jet Li is one of the most authentic martial arts actors out there. As teenagers, my brother and I watched a poor quality, millionth generation VHS about eastern religious/martial arts belief systems. We got to see a 12yr old Jet performing "The Discipline Of The Golden Eggs". Trust me, the lad is dedicated. I wont go into details, but this involves a length of rope, partial nudity, heavy weights and an energetic sprint. It could explain why he walks kinda funny. (I'm not making this up.)

Anyway, so Li finds love and safety with this partial family who adopts him, turns his back on his violent past and becomes and ice cream loving piano tuner. (Again, I'm not making this up.)

His absence greatly annoys Hoskins, who sends his gang of incredibly unconvincing toughs out to find him. They make the Mitchel brothers look convincingly hard. Balh blah blah. It's awful.

The wardrobe choices for the secondary thugs are actually funny they are so cliched. Mohawk hair cuts, leather jakets with chains (Why do the French writers/directors not realise this now means gay submissive?) and doc martin boots. (see above).

Anyway, sure enough, Li discovers there is more to life than violence (although this dosen't go much farther than cooking, music, ice cream and fresh underpants), becomes a peaceful little fella, and then has to have a huge fight again at the end. To prove he's still got it.

Hoskins plays the Ladybird version of his Long Good Friday (awesome!) character, like he has a number of times, and the whole thing is a bit embarassing.

It does also have the worst line of dialogue in ANY film I've ever seen...

Morgan Freeman and his daughter open the door to a bloody, bruised and rain-soaked Jet Li after he has gone missing for a week. He looks up, at the only people who have ever shown him love in his adult life, and in a squeaky monotone says:

"My mother was a whore."

Seriously.

It's a horrible, horrible line.

Aplogies to everyone, but he really says it.

I've been making AWFUL horror movies for 22 or so years. I've NEVER scripted in a line that bad.

Still, it beats "Sorry I'm late, what's for dinner?"

Oh, and one last thing, for a film set in Glasgow, there isn't a SINGLE Scottish accent in it!


Oh well, if any of you read this far, thanks for the effort.


And, if any of you are interested, this weekend I've got lined up 'Ghosthunter2' (supposedly alot better than the first), 'Afraid Of The Dark' (Directed by Uwe Boll. I'll wait 'till I'm drunk) And 'Blood Gnome'. (What, you've NEVER heard of Blood Gnome?! Shame on you!!!)

Also, if any of you out there are interested, a "friend" has been downloading 'Lost' for me, I'm up to episode 8, series two.

Ta ta.

Thanks for your endurance.
Richard.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|ColinMcS|colinmcs@tiscali.co.uk|12/01/05 at 19:19:11|colinmcs|xx|0|88.110.5.109|[quote author=perkin2000 link=board=CryptoCulture;num=1132410088;start=0#3 date=11/22/05 at 00:29:21]2. Dog Soldiers. (2002)
Now, for all my rantings about George W., I'm not in any way anti American. They have contributed some amazing things to our life, language and culture (see various entries on this list) The average Joe/Joette stateside is no better or worse than us. Such attitudes are surely the ignorance we all claim to dispise in thier current leader?

However, in Dog Soldiers it is so fu**ing refreshing to see the British miltary portrayed in a positive, realistic way (in the sense that they are all normal blokes, doing a job. Regional accents and convincing in-jokes, bickering, footie conversation etc) as apposed to narrow shoulderd spivs who are grovelley subserviants to the square jawed American heroes.
If any Americans read this, please don't take offence. I can list you twenty exapmles of this from recent films alone.

To put it another way, this film fu**ing rocks! Funny, gory, funny again, well shot, superb character depth for what it is, AWESOME special effects, funny once more and scary. I love it and normally have a viewing at least once every few weeks. Top stuff![/quote]

Well put, definitely a prime favourite of mine.

Considering the budget of the film they did marvels, especially considering  practically all effects were perform 'ye olde' way, in fact the few CGI effects were restrained to gunfire flashes & suchlike.
Great to see sometimes terrifying effects that were hand crafted.

I adore this film and have no doubt bored many of you silly on various forums about it.
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|12/05/05 at 08:01:36|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Yup. Totally agree.

CGI has its place in pretty looking, undemanding popcorn fodder, but for the intimacy that a good horror film requires, you can't beat a bit of latex.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|12/16/05 at 12:42:47|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|Just thought I’d mention a new TV show I’ve been watching, it’s called Surface. It’s not on TV here yet, a friend’s been downloading it. I’ve only seen the first three episodes, but it looks promising. It’s about a new species of marine creature that’s discovered. It has loads of references to crypto stuff and in one episode one of the characters goes to a cryptozoology conference, unfortunately (as usual) they depicted most of the people there as freaky weirdoes, which annoyed me terribly because I can now say that I have myself been to a cryptozoology conference and all of us there were completely…well some of us were…well ok, moving on. I have up to episode 10 so once I’ve watched them I’ll let you know what I think, like I said, so far it’s been very good, so fingers crossed.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|12/16/05 at 13:44:07|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|By the way Perks, what was 'Blood Gnome' like? the suspense is killing me.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|12/20/05 at 06:17:04|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Aah, Blood Gnome.


A surprising film.

A film of contradictions and surprises. I was expecting a standard poor quality horror film, the usual combination of poor acting, poor effects and exploitative content.

No, instead the viewer is forced to confront ones own beliefs in "reality", "self" and "gnomes".

A considered study in social norms, conformity, ostracizing and the need for acceptance. All played beautifully through the perspective of the central character, the 'Gnome'. (Played here, with profound gravitas, by a plastic gnome)

He tries his hardest to fit in, his efforts are universally met with rejection, dis-trust and bare hatred.

Who hasn't felt like that at some point or another? Inside all of us, there is, at times, a troubled gnome.

In these times of societal divisions, a relevant film indeed.

The final words left me weeping like a beaten drunkard. Realising the folly of his efforts, Gnome's last words, before expiring- "Gnomebud".

Not a dry eye in the...


OK, I'll stop. I realised that I couldn't muster up an opinion on the ACTUAL film beyond the words:
"As absolutely terrible as it sounds".

A confused mess about the S&M bondage scene, and a demonic gnome. Also, the version I saw, had the last twenty minutes missing.

Still, looking forward to the remake: "Plasma Pixie".

 :D

(Sorry for all the above, it's I got up at 5am this morning. Not functioning at fullest.)|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|12/20/05 at 08:55:24|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|'gnomebud'...brilliant!|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|01/20/06 at 17:30:34|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Been watching an absolute ar*eload of horror films of varying quality...

Stay tuned for some uniquely poor reviewing.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|02/01/06 at 12:24:38|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|...withdrawal symptoms setting in...Richard? || Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|02/16/06 at 19:17:06|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Just seen:

LAND OF THE DEAD 8/10  Not Romero's best zombie flick but still heavy on the ketchup despite it's 15 certificate. A good idea too although some of the main characters are a bit 'action-hero' types..but Rich, the main lady in it is rather dark and desirable  ;)

Also seen; SWITCHBLADE ROMANCE 7/10
Rather straight forward slasher flick that is very '80s in its blunt style but quite menacing in places.

THE DEVIL'S REJECTS  9/10
Classy hillbilly-backwoods 'Texas Chainsaw'...-esque madness from Rob Zombie. Nicely reminiscent and borrowing from a great deal of '60s, '70s and early '80s horror gems, and Sherri Moon Zombie...please have my babies!!!

WOLF CREEK 6/10
Very disappointing, considering it's based on fact. Takes a while to get going and then introduces us to a serial killer something akin to a reject from 'Home & Away' who's just not scary.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|02/17/06 at 23:00:55|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Personally I hated Devil's Rejects, however I will admit that it has:

Some very amusing one liners
.
Sherri Moon Zombie wearing tight jeans. (Ahem. :-[ )
.
Great appeal for a man like yourself into all things retro.
.
But, as I said in a previous post, horror films, possibly above any other genre, are an entirely personal journey and can therefore never be "good" or "bad".

Apart from most Wes Craven efforts.
Just unexcusably arse. (Didn't mind 'Red Eye' though.)

As for Switchblade Romance? I Love that film. Well, the first three quarters of it, the twist is thunderous poo, and leaves alot more questions needing awnsers.

But the best thing about 'Switchblade Romance'?
.
It's a French film, and the main actress is called "Cecile De France"*#.
.
That's like a British film having a leading lady called "Brenda Britain"
.
Or an Australian one with the hero played by "Bruce Australia"
.
Or a Papa New Guinea film having...Yup, time for me to shut-up.
.
.
.
.
*She's actually Belgian.
.
.
.
#She's quite hot.
.
.
.
Sorry, typing under the influence of whisky.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|02/18/06 at 15:19:14|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Yeah...but 'Devil's Rejects' is just a nice retro change from drab sugary Americanised tripe that needs a dire 'nu-metal' soundtrack to push it along. The beginning is great as the deranged family confront the cops dressed in full, hime-made body armour.

'Switchblade...' is fine...but just as bluntly brutal as 'Devil's Rejects', but it does have a constant tense feeling which is quite unpredictable because when you expect it to throw the corny frights at you, they don't always come.

P.S. I would like Sherri Moon Zombie's babies...now! Apparantly she's in the remake of 'The Toolbox Murders'.

I've basically been buying alot of DVD's just to replace my old, mould-ridden VHS tapes. 'The Haunting' (classic), 'Fearles vampire Killers' (a great vamp spoof) and 'Ginger Snaps' (one sexy little goth wench...isn't that right Richard  ;) ).

Sequel to 'Dog Soldiers' out soon also.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|02/18/06 at 15:36:16|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Hey...just love doing 'faves' lists also...so would like to here what are your personal:

Top 5 vampire films
Top 5 werewolf flicks.
Top 5 ghost/ supernatural movies.
Top 5 stalk 'n' slash films.
Top 5 zombie films.

Here's mine:

VAMPIRES:
1) Nosferatu (original)
2) Salem's Lot (very t.v. but just good...)
3) Fearless Vampire Killers  (Polanksi genius)
4) Shiver Of The vampires (Jean Rollin...master of hammond organ, psychedelic nude graveyard flicks!!)
5) The Lost Boys (okay..it's abit typical...but I like it even if the vampires look like Def leppard.)

WEREWOLVES
1) An American Werewolf In London (still the best)
2) Dog Soldiers (wicked)
3) The howling (underated horror movie)
4) Ginger Snaps (sexy)
5) Silver Bullet (a bit tame but okay!)

GHOSTS/SUPERNATURAL
1) The Woman In Black  (truly terrifying and only the British know how to do it this way.)
2) The Haunting (the classic film which shows nothing but suggests everything eerie)
3) The Exorcist (the epitome of evil)
4) The Changeling (George C. Scott chiller)
5) Poltergeist (it's one of those films that seems to be circled by an aura despite the film never really hitting you hard)

SLASHER FILMS
1) Texas Chainsaw Massacre (not exactly 'stalk' or 'slash', but this is sheer dementia)
2) The Burning (brutal, yet run-of-the-mill killer movie, banned in the '80s)
3) Friday 13th 9 a classic of the horror genre)
4) Rosemary's Killer  (the usual 'jilted lover gets the hump and kills everyone' movie, but it's from a time when the market was saturated with these kind of films)
5) Driller Killer (dubbed 'awful' by the critics but this has more depth than given credit for and remains a cult classic.)

ZOMBIE
1) Night Of The Living Dead (the stuffy, claustrophobic '60s classic)
2) Day Of The Dead (Romero's third installment.More gore in this apocalyptic vision)
3) Tombs Of The Blind Dead (atmospheric and eerie. These zombies can't see but they sure can hear.)
4) Dawn Of the Dead (if only zombies went on this kind of rampage in Bluewater Shopping Centre!)
5) Zombie Flesh Eaters (badly dubbed, but this is an Italian nasty that had a reputation for years)|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|02/18/06 at 22:15:07|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Yup, have to agree, 'Nu-Metal' soundtracks, as well as sanitised teen horror, are not doing the genre any good.
.
As for Sherri Moon's cameo in the 'Toolbox' remake, it's brief but quite probably the best thing in it. The orginal was pretty weak to start with.
.
That surely is a fine selection you've left us with to choose from. I'll have a ponder, but early entires include...
.
VAMPIRES:
Near Dark. Flippin' fantastic film. captures the whole Dustbowl/Badlands ethos very well. And I have a crush on the director.
.
WEREWOLVES:
Dog Soldiers. Just does it for me, every time. I love this film with a near physical passion. American W.I.London is also awesome. The (Stan Baker, if I'm not mistaken) effects are amazing. And, as I believe I said previously, the noise the thing makes, on the moors at the start, truly truly scary. The scene in the underground? Even more so.
.
Ghosts/Supernatural:
Hmm, for my 24th (if I remember correctly) birthday, my brother baught me tickets to go and see a double bill of Ringu (Original Japanese version of The Ring) at the N.F.T.
This was, at the risk of sounding like a snob, way before western horror film makers had started looking Eastwards for inspiration.
Yup, predictably enough, the bit when she climbed out of the well, and through the TV... Very scary.
Also, I have to mention 'Prince Of Darkness' (if I haven't already). The end of that film still scares the shivering toilet out of me.
.
SLASHER:
Does 'Dead Man's Shoes' count? I loved that film. It's like Mike Leigh camping at Crystal Lake.
.
Zombie:?
Day Of The Dead.
Full stop.
No contest.
Awesome, Awesome, Awesome! (See previous entry for full fanboy critique.)
.
Hope to expand the list when I'm less tired, and more sober.
C'mon, it's Saturday, you expect sobriety?|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|02/21/06 at 15:24:13|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|ok, here's mine:

Vampires:
Martin
Cronos
Salem's lot
Near Dark
From Dusk till Dawn

Werewolves:
American Werewolf in London
The Howling
Silver Bullet
The werewolf hunt
Dog soldiers

Ghost/Supernatural:
The creature from the haunted sea (just kidding)
The exorcist
Prince of darkness
The Amityville horror
The fog
The thing (yeah I know, not really supernatural but hey)

Stalk n' slash:
Texas chainsaw massacre
Psycho
Evil Dead
Halloween
The shining

Zombies:
Braindead
Day of the dead
The serpent and the rainbow
Shaun of the dead
Bio zombie

By the way retro, what's Friday the 13th part 9 about? I'm curious now.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|02/22/06 at 13:37:01|mark_north|xx|0|86.137.106.240|Here we go Horror Film buffs, here is my selection but I have gone a bit overboard in choice just too many:-

[b]Vampires:[/b]

Nosferatu
Nosferatu--The Vampire (1979)--Klaus Kinski in remake of 1922 film
Salem's lot
Captain Kronos - Vampire Hunter
Zoltan, Hound of Dracula (The most funny film featuring a vampire dog, the ending is just stupid)
Last Man on Earth
The Blood Beast Terror (a story about a vampiric woman that changes into a giant mothman type creature, bit fortean this as the film was made during the Mothman sightings in the 1960's)
Near Dark
From Dusk till Dawn
The Hunger

[b]Werewolves:[/b]

American Werewolf in London
The Howling
The Company of Wolves
Dog Soldiers
The Wolfman
The Werewolf of London
The Curse of the Werewolf
Wolfen
Ginger Snaps
Cat People (welll not werewolves but shape changers all the same)

[b]Ghost/Supernatural:[/b]

The Omen
Owlman and Others (well it had to go somewhere)
The Haunting
The Fog
Christine
The Shining
Curse of the Demon (it in the trees its coming!!)
Devil Rides Out
The Exorcist
The Amityville horror
The Keep
The Gate (good animation of elder gods in this flick)
The Haunted Palace
The Masque of the Red Death
Countess Dracula

[b]Psycological Horror:[/b]

Psycho
10 Rillington Place
Halloween
Jack the Ripper (Michael Cane version)
Witchfinder General
The Silence of the Lambs
The Wickerman (A very scary film with very good musical score, but not to everyone's taste)
The Pit and the Pendulum
The House of Usher
The House of Wax
The Abominable Dr. Phibes (Probably one of the best ever made)
Theatre of Blood
The Invisble Man

[b]Zombies:[/b]

28 Days Later
Evil Dead
Evil Dead 2
Army of Darkness
The Serpent and the Rainbow
Shaun of the Dead  
Night of the Living Dead
Day of the Dead
Re-Animator

[b]N.B.[/b] And yes, :-[ Roger Corman did direct [i]"The Creature from the Haunted Sea"[/i] http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0054768/

[IMG]http://i45.photobucket.com/albums/f94/allamagoosa/creature.jpg[/IMG]||02/22/06 at 14:12:59|mark_north Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|02/22/06 at 19:02:12|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107| :-[  sorry Thelma, my Friday 13th '9' was actually meant to be the start of a bracket, hahahaha!!

Oh yeah, forgot about '28 Days Later' . I also though 'Prince Of darkness' was quite sinister but it flopped big time and the critics gave it a roasting, but the woman towards the end with the blood-covered face, she's just too darn nasty!

Just wondered also if anyone has seen a film that I'm desperately after a copy of. It's called 'Nature of the Beast' and is adapted from the janni Howker kids book of the dame title. It must've been shown on C4 around the early '90s and concerns a boy who lives in a run down, unemployed Yorkshire town, with the only excitement being the sightings of a 'big cat' which he eventually tracks down.  If anyone can help, or has a copy they recorded off t.v. (as I'm unsure if it was released on vid) please let me know.

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Ed Malone|cfz@eclipse.co.uk|02/22/06 at 20:31:10|obadiah|xx|0|86.137.106.240|Well here it goes

[b]Vampires: [/b]

Stakeout
Chupacabra
The Lost Boys
Lair of the White Worm
Razor Blade Smile


[b]Werewolves: [/b]

Le Loup-Garou
Wolfen
The Beast Must Die
Howling II: Your Sister's a Werewolf
Face of the Screaming Werewolf

[b]Ghost/Supernatural:[/b]

Rosemary's Baby
Sleepy Hollow
The Haunting
The Ghost Train
Cry of the Banshee

[b]Slasher Films:[/b]

Halloween
Pink Flamingos
Burn, Witch, Burn!
Cutting Moments
Asylum

[b]Zombies:[/b]

Attack of the Zombie Chickens
Children Shouldn't Play With Dead Things
28 Days later
La Invasion de los Zombies Atomicas
El Buque Maldito ||02/22/06 at 20:33:37|obadiah Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|02/22/06 at 20:48:47|mark_north|xx|0|86.137.106.240|[quote]Just wondered also if anyone has seen a film that I'm desperately after a copy of. It's called 'Nature of the Beast' and is adapted from the janni Howker kids book of the dame title. It must've been shown on C4 around the early '90s and concerns a boy who lives in a run down, unemployed Yorkshire town, with the only excitement being the sightings of a 'big cat' which he eventually tracks down.  If anyone can help, or has a copy they recorded off t.v. (as I'm unsure if it was released on vid) please let me know. [/quote]

http://www.heinemann.co.uk/secondary/book.aspx?isbn=0435124595&n=541&d=s&s=574&id=HowkerJanni

Yes I remember this short film, I also remember the book from school.  Yes the story was very much in the same vain as Ken Loach's Kes, a boys obsession in finding a big cat on the moors while trying to cope with his abusive drunken father and family problems.  I do remember at the end of the film when he did venture on the moor, and encountered the cat which was as a Cheetah, if memory serves me well.  Yes it is a shame that it never got repeated as I only saw it on the of chance, but I don't believe it ever was released on video. Which is a shame.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|02/22/06 at 21:16:40|Mark_North|xx|0|86.137.106.240|Now here is a useful resource for forum members who are struggling to think of there favourite five.

http://www.wsu.edu/~delahoyd/monsters.html

a website devoted to monsters in literature and film, though don't expect to see the even obscure to be listed.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|02/23/06 at 17:35:55|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Thanks for the info Mark regarding the 'Nature Of The Beast' film. I think the boy actually came face to face with a Leopard at the end of the movie and it sank into a bog on the moor.
I really need to track this film down, or a copy.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Richard_F|richard@cfz.org.uk|02/23/06 at 20:43:32|richard_f|xx|0|86.143.42.131|I have the novel the book was based on. In the film it's a spotted leopard not a panther. It falls into a bog and is sucked under. Then the boy goes feral and claims that he will be the new beast. It's a very bleak film.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|03/03/06 at 07:48:16|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Recently, I have been mostly watching:

2001 Maniacs.

Oh dear. This is a remake of the Herschell Gordon Lewis film, 2000 Maniacs, which was made in 1964, and is probably alot better. I dunno, I haven't. Lewis has been credited with 'inventing' the splatter genre, and if you watch some of his early stuff, you can see why. The films are as weak as Tesco's lager, and the acting is sub Hollyoaks. However, they do have something of a stupid charm and lots of unrealistic fake blood.

The remake has high-fiving teens, regional and ethnic stereo-types, a thick fog of tedious cliches, the inclusion of a (awful) token nu-metal song, and Robert Englund. (Why does he seem to think the execrable Elm Street films has put him in the position of being some kinda horror film tribal elder? Robert, your acting is poo and has the variation of a carpet tack. You were far better playing 'Willie' in 'V'. Which was great. For proof, watch the 'Dance Of The Dead' episode of the disapointing 'Masters Of Horror' series, currently playing on TV stateside.)

Oh, talking of 'Masters Of Horror', has anyone seen any? Not been aired in the UK yet, I think, but a chum has been downloading them for me. Very mediocre, the best one, and most crypto, is the one directed by Lucky Mgee (fake name, or cruel parents?) who also made 'May', a horror film well worth checking out.

Also seen 'Evil Aliens'.
The latest Empire magazine gave this one star. The reviewer, Kim Newman, had his high brow sensibilities insulted by the low brow production values. Well, Kim Newman can kiss my shaven pills. I once had the huge displeasure of sitting in front of him at an NFT screening of 'The Addiction'. I dunno what annoyed me more, the numbingly pretensious film, or the tweed wearing, "I'll laugh louder than anyone else to ensure they all know I'm superior", loudly talking, arse-faced idiot behind me. His friend looked embarassed, I just wanted to stab him.

Kim Newman, what a wan*er. And his books are crap.

Evil Aliens however, is great. Yes, it's awful, but in the best possible way. It's comparisons to 'Bad Taste' are well deserved. My favorite film of the year so far.
How could anyone not like a film where a field full of aliens are attacked by a man in a combine harvester? If you don't like this film, you take yourself too seriously.

Also watched 'Fragile' And 'Darkness'.
Darkness has Sean Bean living on the Welsh coast, doing something or other with his life since splitting up with his American wife. YAWN! Oh, it's a British film, quick, we have to include an American to generate some kind of cross-atlantic appeal. Sadly, I feel the attempt will fail. Not because she's American, but because the film is a below par attempt at the whole spooky kid, 'Ring' vibe. Awful, awful, awful. And it takes a lazy pop at the Welsh for being simple folk who would worship a pineapple if someone told them to. Absolute balls.

And lastly, for now, Fragile.
Calista 'back away! It's a pie' Flockhart plays a nurse who moves to the Isle Of Wight (er, yes. OK) to work in a hospital which is closing down.
Obviously a woman with a firm eye on productive career moves:

"Excuse me, nurse Calista, I hear you're looking for a new job?"

"Yup."

"Well, we have an exciting oppurtunity available. You can join the small staff team in St. Haunted's."

"Sounds good."

"Yes, it's a condemned hospital, in the process of closing down. It has, like, seven kids in it..."

"Sounds good."

"Oh, and some strange, vengeful demon ghost, that breaks peoples bones and kills them horrifically."

"Sounds good."

"Would you like a pie?"

"Eeeeeeep!"

This is another attempt at the 'Ring' style thing, but unlike 'Darkness', actually works. This film even scared me at one point. Considering how many horror films I watch, that's the equivilent of a carpenter being confused by a hammer. Y'know, familiarity often leaves one wanting.

That's enough.

Bye.

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|03/17/06 at 19:33:26|retrocrypto|xx|0|82.34.62.107|Just seen the remake of Wes Craven's 'Hills Have Eyes', and not too bad considering some of the awful remakes this year already, such as 'The Fog'.
The 'Hills Have Eyes' is reasonably low-budget with a relatively unknown cast which makes a change, and it pretty much sticks to the original theme of the classic Craven work.
It's nice that there's no 'nu-metal' soundtrack, and it's reasonably nasty too in places, although the villains aren't a patch on those in the original which is a shame. In fact one of the freaks looks like something out of 'The Goonies'!!|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|03/18/06 at 00:23:47|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|And it's directed by the guy who made 'Switchblade Romance', which is awesome. Apart from the awful twist.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Thelma|turbonoodle@gmail.com|03/27/06 at 16:52:42|thelma|xx|0|195.194.77.31|Just watched Hostel…mixed feelings about it. Main problem being that I’d heard a lot about it, mainly hype of the “most gory film you’ll ever watch/most shocking film ever made” type, it is neither. It is however, a good film in its own right, if you ignore the pretentious “Quentin Tarantino presents” in the titles and everything you’ve heard about it, it’s still above average, with a few cringe inducing moments, but it unfortunately fails to scare. The story is good, and I know Eli Roth doesn’t have many fans, but I quite liked the execution, I would have much rather just gone to see it without ever having heard anything about it, I would have enjoyed it much more, so don’t believe the hype, it’s not that good, but it’s a nice film for what it is, and by nice I mean nicely made not that I consider digit chopping nice.
By the end of it I couldn’t help getting the feeling that he’d held back though, that he had all these ideas and then chickened out and thought it might be too much, and that’s not the way to make a memorable film.
But I'll never have a holiday in Slovakia.
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|ronancoghlan|excalibur@bangor.fsbusiness.co.uk|03/27/06 at 23:38:06|ronancoghlan|xx|0|81.79.29.181|This is a list of titles of horror films that were never made, but ought to have been....

Revenge of the Necrophiles.

Kindergarten for Cannibals.

The Rejuvenation of Margaret Thatcher.

The Comet of Vomit.

It Dwelt beneath the Lavatory in Waterloo Station.

Vampire Pensioners of Stoke Poges.

Erotic Horrors on Walton's Mountain.

Ant and Dec - the Movie.  (Yes, I know that's too extreme).

Ghoulies of Holne Court.

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|retrocrypto|neilthemod@blueyonder.co.uk|03/28/06 at 12:08:07|retrocrypto|xx|0|62.31.177.125|Sorry Ronan but there is to be a Ant & Dec film  :(  and I'd much prefer: WALLACE & VOMIT!|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|04/25/06 at 18:04:19|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|I saw two zombie films last weekend. Both very low budget. One good. One bad.

Let's start with the bad.



'Return Of The Living Dead:Necropolis'

Made for approximately the price of a kebab, this film is (I believe) the fifth in the series. A fair comparison is the films of Kevin Smith. No, I don't mean they are funny, interesting and orginal, I mean that each one is probably only half as good as the one before it. And at least Smith started with the awesome 'Clerks'.

This film was made in Eastern Europe and pretends to be in America. The fact that even the women speak like Vladimir Putin make this quite obvious. The acting is comparible to children in a playground, running around with water pistols. But without the imagination. This film also has the second worse peice of dialogue I've seen in recent times. (For the worst, see 'Unleashed/Danny The Dog.) A man stares at the shapely rear of his co-worker and says "Nice pooper".

I have a question for any women who might read this: If, during my highly libidinous single years, I had approached you, looked round back, and then smilingly said "Nice pooper", would I have got anything apart from a slap?



Nope. Didn't think so.
Avoid unless in the company of drunken, giggly friends or you're feeling particually masochistic.




The second was 'Dead Men Walking'.

Nope, not the Sean Penn film where he plays a killer with hair so fantastic it deserved it's own billing, but a play on the Yank prison term used when someone walks the 'Green Mile'. (Oh gosh, I watch too many films). Y'see, after a 'bio-toxin' (YAWN!) infects a guy who gets sent down, he unintentionally spreads it, and before you know it, the whole place is crammed with zombies in denim.

I speak as someone who had a passion for zombie films a long time before 28 days later and Dawn Of The Dead 04 re-fired the collective film going interest in them, but for fuggs sake, it's getting a little tedious now. It seems that everyone with a camcorder and a pot of latex is trying to make their own un-dead classic.

Me included. Bugger.

The difference between most of them and this film, is that the script, at times, struggles bravely to throw in the odd good, or believable line. The gore is pretty fun, and the whole thing almost over comes its obvious budgetary restraints to turn into something quite worthy.

Well, I liked it.

It was probably poo, but after watching 'Necropolis', this thing felt like Hitchcock.

Ta.
Richard.|| Ray Harryhausen back?|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|05/23/06 at 19:28:40|Mark_North|xx|0|81.155.45.216|[b]Harryhausen to Create New TV, Film Projects [/b]

May 23, 2006

By John Gaudiosi

Seminal filmmaker Ray Harryhausen has joined forces with Mindfire Entertainment on a series of new movies, telefilms, video games and merchandising under the "Ray Harryhausen Presents" banner.

[center][img]http://www.harryhausen.de/poster.jpg[/img][/center]

These projects will be based on unproduced material by Harryhausen. Mindfire CEO Mark A. Altman said several scripts are in development -- one set in Greek mythology and another with an alien invasion theme -- with production on the first film set to begin in the fall.

The plan is to release one movie in the $15 million range and three telefilms in the $4 million range every year, Altman said. Harryhausen will be involved in the development of the projects and will oversee all visual effects, which will be done in CGI but will be in the spirit of the stop-motion special effects that he pioneered, Altman said.

The films will be represented internationally for Mindfire at the Festival de Cannes by Yarek Danielak's Arsenal Pictures.

Harryhausen said "utilizing the incredible advances in visual effects technology" would enable him to reach an entire new generation of audiences. "These stories are universal, and I could not be more thrilled than to revisit some of my favorite worlds -- past, present and future -- in these new films," he said.

Altman said the films will revisit genres that made Harryhausen a legend in the field of fantasy entertainment. "For decades, Ray Harryhausen was at the cutting edge of visual effects, and we hope with these new films we can do the same for emerging technology and multimedia," he said.

The films will be produced by Altman, Mindfire chairman Mark Gottwald and Mindfire senior vp production Chuck Speed along with Christopher Aaron Wyatt ("Napoleon Dynamite"), Arnold Kunert and Marc Scott Zicree ("Star Trek: Deep Space Nine," "Babylon 5"), who also is helping adapt Harryhausen's stories for several of the films.

Altman said a multipronged strategy will extend across multiple platforms and also include working with partners to merchandise comic books, novelizations and action figures under the "Ray Harryhausen Presents" banner.

"Once we have some storyboards and scripts ready, we'll take these concepts to game developers," Altman said. "From 'Mighty Joe Young' to 'Clash of the Titans,' Harryhausen films have focused on fantastic creatures and mythological monsters. This translates well to console and mobile games."

In addition, online webisodes will be created to provide prequel or sequel extensions of the film and TV story lines. Altman said this kind of content will also be repurposed on the DVD releases of the films.

http://www.backstage.com/bso/news_reviews/film/article_display.jsp?vnu_content_id=1002540618

http://www.iesb.net/warnerbros2006/050506.php - Rumours of a remake of "Clash of the Titans" and Ray's thoughts on this.

*I hope they do some of creatures and monsters to the style of Ray's featured in his wonderful book 'The Art of Ray Harryhausen' (http://www.amazon.co.uk/exec/obidos/ASIN/1845131142/qid=1148410103/sr=8-1/ref=pd_ka_1/203-4494434-4619907) with such of the unrealised film projects such as [i]The War of the Worlds[/i] and the [i]The Force of the Trojans[/i].  Though it is a shame that they won't be using stop animation.

Further links: http://lavender.fortunecity.com/judidench/584/#||05/23/06 at 19:39:40|Mark_North Re: Film/TV reviews.|Richard_F|richard@cfz.org.uk|05/23/06 at 20:05:28|richard_f|xx|0|86.144.127.208|Fan-bloody-tastic! :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D :D|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Ed Malone|cfz@eclipse.co.uk|06/09/06 at 10:37:48|obadiah|xx|0|86.131.98.207|June 03, 2006 Daily Record, UK
----------------------------------------------------------
http://www.dailyrecord.co.uk/news/tm_objectid=17170681&method=full&siteid=66
633&headline=brother-of-omen-actor-in-666-jinx--name_page.html

3 June 2006

BROTHER OF OMEN ACTOR IN 666 JINX
THE Omen star Pete Postlethwaite has revealed his brother died after
drawing three sixes in a card game - while he was filming the remake of
the 70s chiller.

Postlethwaite, who plays Father Brennan, told how his 62-year-old
brother Mike's pals even joked about him dying after he drew the
Devil's hand in a game of poker.

Pete said: "It's a very personal thing but it's true nonetheless.
Mike's death was completely out of the blue.

"The lads down his club told me they'd been playing cards the week
before. They were playing open three-card poker and Mike drew three
sixes.

"One of the fellas even jokingly said to him, 'That's your number up
now' and it was just shortly afterwards he died on March 14.

"It's not necessarily got anything to do with the film but I think
things like that do happen and it's just sometimes we're not sensitised
enough to see the connection."

The original 1976 movie was beset by problems including the plane for
scriptwriter David Seltzer being struck by lightning.

The film's star, Gregory Peck, had a lucky escape after cancelling a
flight to Israel, which later crashed, killing all on board.

The jinx continued when a warden at the safari park used in the "crazy
baboon" scene was killed by a lion and crew members survived a head-on
smash.

Director John Moore admitted the 2006 Omen had also been hit by a
series of glitches.

He said: "Whether or not it's all voodoo nonsense, I don't know, but
I'm a superstitious person by nature and it's very debilitating because
you invent problems for yourself."
(Daily Record)
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|06/10/06 at 01:02:26|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Worse thing is, that film really didn't need to be remade. || Re: Film/TV reviews.|shearluck|lewisoll@yahoo.co.uk|06/10/06 at 18:33:53|shearluck|xx|0|86.131.98.207|Nevermind the curse of the omen what about the curse of 'A chump at Oxford' ?

[b]ALL[/b] the actors in it are now dead including Stan Laurel who died in the country that some of the film was set  :o

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|07/02/06 at 11:35:59|Mark_north|xx|0|86.131.98.207|[center][img]http://www.thedigitalbits.com/articles/interviews/harryhausen/harryhausenheader.jpg[/img][/center]

This is a little late I know, but the 29th June was Ray Harryhausen's 86th Birthday - Happy Brithday from the CFZ  :)

Born in 1920 Los Angeles, Ray got his start working on visual effects in the 1949 movie Mighty Joe Young. Using stop-motion photography and models, Harryhausen became one of the pioneers of visual effects in fantasy films. In 1953 he teamed with friend and writer Ray Bradbury to make The Beast From 20,000 Fathoms, and he is famous for his work in films such as Earth vs. the Flying Saucers, The 7th Voyage of Sinbad and Jason and the Argonauts. Harryhausen's last film was 1981's Clash of the Titans.

http://www.imdb.com/name/nm0366063/

-----------------------------------------------------------------------
[b]Ray Harryhausen Unites with BlueWater Productions for New Adventure![/b]

Jun 16, 2006, 16:00

Filmmaker Ray Harryhausen  has joined forces with BlueWater Productions on a series of new comic book  ventures and merchandising under the "Ray Harryhausen Presents" banner.  Harryhausen is now part of the BlueWater team developing projects that tap his  extensive creative talents.

BlueWater will produce six titles with Harryhausen, advancing  the
adventures of the characters the filmmaker brought to life in his classic
sci-fi and fantasy franchises. Slated for release later this year are
"Wrath of  the Titans," "Sinbad's Voyage to Mars" and "20 Million Miles
From  Earth." Plans  for feature films and a television series are being developed by Left Field Film  Corp.
 
Harryhausen will be at the San Diego Comic-Con July 21 and 22  with the
BlueWater team, where he'll sign posters from the upcoming series.
The collaborative projects will provide  springboards for the next
generation of characters based on Harryhausen's films.  Harryhausen also plans on crafting a story line featuring BlueWater's signature  character, the 10th Muse. "X-Men" author Scott Lobdell will write the updated  "10th Muse" series based on Harryhausen's take.
 

Each comic will feature five pages of  original artwork from Harryhausen's
collection, thanks to a partnership with  Every Picture Tells a Story, the
Santa Monica-based gallery that sells the  artist's works. Harryhausen's
artwork also will grace the covers.
 
"As an  artist, I've always enjoyed exploring new and interesting areas,"
Harryhausen  says. "Although many of my feature films, beginning with 'The 7th Voyage of  Sinbad,' were adapted into the comic book format, I have never been directly  involved with that particular art form -- until now. I am very happy to be  working with BlueWater Productions, who have already done wonderful work with  their '10th Muse' and 'Isis' comic
books, and look forward to seeing characters  from my films in new and
exciting adventures."
 
BlueWater President Darren Davis says he's  humbled to have Harryhausen aboard. "Ray Harryhausen is one of the reasons I  create comics. 'Clash of the Titans' made a priceless impression on my career.  I'm honored to work with Ray. He inspired and motivated me to take 'Legends'  into different media."
 
BlueWater Art Director Nadir Balan is equally excited to work  with
Harryhausen. "Ray Harryhausen's films have a timeless appeal that extends beyond special effects and monsters. My goal is to capture the essence and charm  of his films and adapt them to action-packed comics so both new readers and  existing fans can catch up on the ongoing adventures. I'm thrilled to be part of  the team dreaming up new futures for these great characters." More  projects showcasing the Harryhausen-BlueWater partnership are in the works and  will be announced soon.

http://comicbookbin.com/artman/exec/view.cgi/124/3647/printer||07/02/06 at 11:38:59|Mark_north Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|09/01/06 at 14:22:56|Mark_North|xx|0|86.131.101.101|This has recently come to my attention they have made a animated film of Edwin A. Abbotts book Flatland: A Romance of Many Dimensions (Online version of the text - http://www.xahlee.org/flatland/index.html) and also http://www.mathaware.org/mam/00/master/people/abbott/index.html

[center][img]http://upload.wikimedia.org/wikipedia/commons/thumb/5/51/Flatland_cover.jpg/455px-Flatland_cover.jpg[/img][/center]

If you don't believe me here is the official website and trailer http://www.flatlandthemovie.com/ :)||09/01/06 at 16:13:54|Mark_North Re: Film/TV reviews.|Ed Malone|cfz@eclipse.co.uk|09/06/06 at 07:54:57|obadiah|xx|0|86.131.101.101|Sasquatch Mountain premieres on the Sci-Fi Channel on September 9, 2006, at 7:00 pm Eastern/6:00 pm Central, and then again the same night at 9:00 pm Eastern/8:00 pm Central.

[center][img]http://www.curbentertainment.com/web_scans/images/DevilMountain.jpg[/img][/center]

The movie was formerly titled Devil on the Mountain. The never-screened, newly renamed Sasquatch Mountain stars Lance Henriksen, the extremely good actor who has appeared in other Bigfoot motion pictures and perhaps is best known for his role in AVP: Alien vs Predator as millionaire “Charles Bishop Weyland,” in two earlier Alien films as “Bishop,” and in the television series “Millennium” as “Frank Black.”

http://www.scifi.com/sasquatchmountain/|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|09/06/06 at 18:50:45|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Not forgetting his best role as Jesse in 'Near Dark'. :D

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Ed Malone|cfz@eclipse.co.uk|09/13/06 at 10:05:47|obadiah|xx|0|86.131.101.101|Frightmares Horror Film Fest 2006

Do you have a feature length or short horror film that you would like screened? The Fright Factory is now accepting submissions for the FRIGHTMARES
Horror Film Festival, which will be running throughout October.

Source: _http://www.toxicshock.tv/news/?p=57_
(http://www.toxicshock.tv/news/?p=57)
|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|10/08/06 at 01:32:41|perkin2000|xx|0|80.3.64.13|Tonight, I watched, so you probably don't ever have to, 'Abominable'.

http://uk.imdb.com/title/tt0402743/

I thought this might be of interest to people on here because of the Yeti theme.

Well, for starters, it's pretty damn awful, but, depending on your tolerance for such things, also quite good fun.

But mostly awful.

It's about a guy who accidentally made himself wheelchair dependant six months earlier in a climbing accident, and who now, for reasons not explained in any realistic way, has been forced to go back to his mountain home under the guidance of his nurse/physical therapist/James Hetfield impersonator.

Righto, anyway, so, he's in the mountains, a bit secluded, with a nurse who appears to drink vodka and milk.

I'll drink pretty much anything. As I write this, I'm working my way through a bottle of Balie Nicol Jarvie whisky, and flippin' lovely it is too. Seriously, I'm not a product loyal kinda chap in any way, but this stuff, if you like scotch, is great. Vodka and milk, though, seriously? Fuggin yuck!

Anyway, beverage choices aside, things go decidely pear shaped as five depressingly cliched frat-girl types descend on the neighbouring cabin for a weekend of giggling and voyueristic showering oppurtunities.

This seems to particualy enrage the Yeti living nearby. Possibly a mysoginist? Youth envy? In need of waxing tips? I dunno. Point is, he breaks in, during a laughable scene, and kills 80% of the girls.

So blah, blah, blah, wheelchair boy knocks out his unbelieving nurse and, in an incredibly boring final quarter, escapes with the remaining young lady.

No doubt love blossomed between them afterwards.

This film has got a cameo by Lance Henrikson in it, but I assure you this is a completely different film from the above mentioned 'Sasquatch Mountain'.

Anyway, I'm rather drunk, so I best go.

Cheers for reading, if anyone did.
Richard.


Oh, I forgot to mention, the Yeti has an alarming resemblance to Brian Blessed.

||10/08/06 at 01:38:33|perkin2000 Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|10/08/06 at 12:54:37|Mark_North|xx|0|81.152.73.104|
[img]http://www.thequarter.org/SouthernWastes/images/BB-Visit1.jpg[/img]

The Yeti

[img]http://www.actionunlimited.net/images/Abom_Attack1.jpg[/img]

Brian Blessed


Its almost uncanny................... ???

|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|shearluck|lewisoll@yahoo.co.uk|10/08/06 at 13:01:47|shearluck|xx|0|81.152.73.104|[quote author=perkin2000 link=board=CryptoCulture;num=1132410088;start=45#56 date=10/08/06 at 01:32:41]Oh, I forgot to mention, the Yeti has an alarming resemblance to Brian Blessed.

[/quote]

[glow=green,2,300][size=4]Gordan's Alive![/size][/glow]|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|BoyScoutKev|esackman@hotmail.com|11/14/06 at 19:17:20|BoyScoutKev|xx|0|12.181.197.100|If those pictures are captioned correctly, would someone tell Mr. Blessed, he needs to see a good dentist. I don't see how he's managed to chew his food all these months.|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|12/10/06 at 15:43:07|Mark_North|xx|0|81.152.72.27|Lord of fantasy: Jackson eyeing 'Temeraire' Lord of fantasy

[center][img]http://www.elbakin.net/plume/xmedia/fantasy/news/parutions/temeraire.jpg[/img][/center]

Peter Jackson is eyeing his next fantasy series. The filmmaker has dipped into his discretionary fund to option "Temeraire," a historical fantasy series by first-time novelist Naomi Novik, as he puts the pieces together for his career post-"King Kong."

The "Temeraire" saga reimagines the world of the Napoleonic Wars with the addition of an air force of dragons and valiant aviators. It centers on British naval Capt. Will Laurence, who captures a French ship, where he discovers an unhatched dragon egg in the hold -- a gift from the Emperor of China intended for Napoleon. When the egg hatches, he is forced to give up his naval career to become captain of the dragon he names Temeraire.

" 'Temeraire' is a terrific meld of two genres that I particularly love -- fantasy and historical epic," Jackson said. "I can't wait to see Napoleonic battles fought with a squadron of dragons. That's what I go to the movies for."

Jackson also is looking to take the books into the realm of interactive entertainment.

Novik was a computer programmer who did design work on a video game titled "Neverwinter Nights: Shadows of Undrentide." She wrote the first "Temeraire" book in 2004. When Del Rey saw it, the publisher asked for two more books. The series was launched in the spring.

Jackson got involved when producer Lucas Foster read galleys in January and sent them to Jackson's manger, Ken Kamins at Key Creatives. When Jackson read it, he was hooked.

"As I was reading these books, I could see them coming to life in my mind's eye," Jackson said. "These are beautifully written novels, not only fresh, original and fast-paced, but full of wonderful characters with real heart."

Foster and Kamins will serve as executive producers of the movie.

Novik learned that Jackson was one of the parties interested in her fledgling series in February but was skeptical anything would happen.

"I was warned that whatever happens in Hollywood, you should assume it's 10 degrees below reality," Novik said. "So if they say Peter Jackson has it, it really means Peter Jackson's assistant's personal trainer has it. I never took it seriously until (IPG's Justin Manask) called myself and (literary agent Cynthia Manson) and said, 'Peter wants the book.' There was lot of screaming in my household when I first got the call."

To Novik, who first read J.R.R. Tolkien's "The Lord of the Rings" at age 6, having her creation in the hands of the man who brought those books to the screen is immensely reassuring.

"Those movies meant so much to me," Novik said. Jackson has not yet decided whether he will make one movie or three or if the books can be introduced by other media first. He is using his own funds to option material before approaching any studios with his plans.

In that vein, Jackson has optioned Alice Sebold's "The Lovely Bones" and is writing the adaptation with partners Fran Walsh and Philippa Boyens on spec with the intent of speaking to distributors after the script is done. He plans to direct the movie in second-half 2007.

Novik, writing the fourth installment of the series, is repped by Cynthia Manson Literary Agency, IPG and Gang, Tyre, Ramer and Brown.

Jackson is additionally repped by Nelson, Felker.

The book temeraire: The Majesty's Dragon is avaible at:-

http://www.amazon.co.uk/Temeraire-Naomi-Novik/dp/0007219113/sr=8-7/qid=1165762452/ref=sr_1_7/202-7819238-2517428?ie=UTF8&s=books

http://www.temeraire.org/
|| Universal acquires 'Three Men'|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|03/09/07 at 14:27:04|Mark_north|xx|0|86.147.98.33|Universal acquires 'Three Men'

Film being developed as a vehicle for Heder

By MICHAEL FLEMING

Universal Pictures has acquired the Nick Redfern novel "Three Men Seeking Monsters: Six Weeks in Pursuit of Werewolves, Lake Monster, Giant Cats, Ghostly Devil Dogs, and Ape-Men."

The hope is to develop a film that could be a vehicle for Jon Heder, the "Napoleon Dynamite" star who's about to open opposite Will Ferrell in "Blades of Glory."

Jon, Doug and Dan Heder's U-based Greasy Entertainment banner will produce with Ken Atchity of Atchity Entertainment Intl.

In the book, three guys who've separately chased monsters and UFOs unite for one last hurrah, taking one last caravan to every place in the British countryside where monsters have allegedly been spotted.

Book, a cult favorite in Britain, was published by Simon & Schuster.

Chi-li Wong will be exec producer, and Mike Kuciak will be a co-producer.

http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117960724.html?categoryid=13&cs=1|| 'Napoleon' star seeks 'Monsters'|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|03/09/07 at 14:31:13|Mark_north|xx|0|86.147.98.33|'Napoleon' star seeks 'Monsters'

By JAM! Movies

Jon Heder may star in the big screen adaptation of Nick Redfern's novel "Three Men Seeking Monsters: Six Weeks in Pursuit of Werewolves, Lake Monster, Giant Cats, Ghostly Devil Dogs, and Ape-Men."

Variety.com reports the "Napoleon Dynamite" star's Greasy Entertainment will produce the film with Atchity Entertainment International.

The novel, which is a cult favourite in the U.K., follows three monster hunters who unite for a trip to every location in the British countryside where monsters have been spotted.

Heder will next be seen in "Blades of Glory" with Will Ferrell.

http://jam.canoe.ca/Movies/Artists/H/Heder_Jon/2007/03/08/3715009-ca.html|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|03/09/07 at 14:34:14|Mark_north|xx|0|86.147.98.33|ANOTHER STUDIO GIVES JON HEDER A PROJECT

03.08.07

By Russ Fischer

Contributing sources: Variety

One of the scenes you'll probably never see in the CHUD.com movie involved a couple of minor characters hunting for the autographs of famous -- and not-so famous -- monsters. The next best thing might be Nick Redfern's novel Three Men Seeking Monsters: Six Weeks in Pursuit of Werewolves, Lake Monster, Giant Cats, Ghostly Devil Dogs, and Ape-Men. (Buy it from CHUD! I dare you.) The book is a travelogue, in which Redfern and two friends traipse across hill and dale in the UK, getting soused at pubs while attempting to track down several of the island's more storied, and possibly mythical, inhabitants.

Now, in a move that resembles, and possibly even tops the casting of an American as the lead of The Beach, Universal has picked up the novel to develop as a vehicle for...Jon Heder? Heder and his brothers Doug and Dan will produce the picture under their Greasy Entertainment banner in collaboration with Ken Atchity.

It's not that I don't understand the thought process here -- Three Men Seeking Monsters is a great story idea, no matter where it's set. You've got three friends, all of whom are real-world 'monster hunters', uniting for a last guy's trip out to the country, drenched in beer and folklore. So yes, Heder could work this into something suitable for his...appeal...just as well as Fox Animation could use the framework to revive the Chipmunks. With Jason Lee on board, they'd really have something!

[img]http://chud.com/nextraimages/threemenseekingmonsters4.jpg[/img]|| Re: Film/TV reviews.|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|03/09/07 at 14:56:18|Mark_north|xx|0|86.147.98.33|Jon Heder is Seeking Monsters

Try to fit this title on a marquee: Three Men Seeking Monsters: Six Weeks in Pursuit of Werewolves, Lake Monsters, Giant Cats, Ghostly Devil Dogs, and Ape-Men. It's the name of a book by Nick Redfern that Universal has just bought the rights to. Now get this: the book is non-fiction. Redfern is a Ufologist and his book tells of his adventure with two buddies as the trio visited legendary mysterious places around Great Britain, including Loch Ness. The best part is that Redfern is a punk, one of his friends is a goth herpetologist (a reptile and amphibian expert) and his other friend is 6'6" and 400 pounds. Basically, this is the book I was craving as a subculture-centered, Fortean-minded, mysteries-of-the-unknown-obsessed teenager.

Fortunately, I never knew about this book (actually it came out many years after I'd stopped reading about UFOs and such), because if I was a fan and had looked forward to it being adapted into a movie, I would have been very disappointed to learn that Jon Heder is set to star. The one-note Napoleon Dynamite actor, who is surprisingly not yet a has-been despite not yet starring in another hit since his cult-fave introduction, will be producing with his brothers, Doug and Dan (his twin! there's two of them!), and he is expected to play the author (who is bald). I'm not sure who he could get to play the big guy, but for the goth herpetologist let me suggest Heder's School for Scoundrels co-star Todd Louiso, who has at least played a snake expert amusingly before, and who I can totally imagine dressing up to play Vampire: The Masquerade.

http://www.cinematical.com/2007/03/08/jon-heder-is-seeking-monsters/|| Cinematographer Francis dies at 89|Mark North|darkdorset@hotmail.com|03/22/07 at 10:20:20|mark_north|xx|0|86.147.98.33|Posted: Tue., Mar. 20, 2007, 9:15am PT

Cinematographer Francis dies at 89

Filmmaker won Oscar for 'Glory'

Freddie Francis, who won Academy Awards for cinematography for "Sons and Lovers" in 1961 and "Glory" in 1989, died Saturday in west London. He was 89.

Although he received his greatest acclaim as a lenser, with numerous nominations and prizes for his work on films such as "The Straight Story," "The Elephant Man," "The French Lieutenant's Woman" and "Cape Fear," he also had a successful career as a director of horror movies in the 1960s and '70s for cult British studios Hammer and Amicus.

[center][img]http://www.zone-sf.com/images/drterrors1.jpg[/img]

Classic Horror like [i]Dr. Terrors House of Horror[/i], directed by Freddie Francis[/center]

Francis was born in Islington, London. Starting out as a still photographer, he entered the film business as a clapper boy, camera loader and focus puller. He gained experience with army film units during WWII, and, after the war, he worked as a camera operator on classic British films including "The Elusive Pimpernel," "The Small Back Room," "Gone to Earth," "The Tales of Hoffmann," "Beat the Devil" and "Moby Dick."

He made his debut as a cinematographer with "A Hill in Korea" in 1956, moving on to shoot some of the pics in the new wave of realist working-class dramas, such as "Room at the Top" and "Saturday Night and Sunday Morning."

Francis stopped working as a cinematographer in the mid-1960s, when his directing career started to take off with genre pics such as "Nightmare," "Hysteria," "The Evil of Frankenstein" and "Dracula Has Risen From the Grave."

He returned to cinematography in 1980 with David Lynch's "The Elephant Man," working subsequently with Lynch on "Dune" in 1984 and "The Straight Story" in 1999, his last film. His last film as a director was "Dark Tower" in 1986.

Francis won the lifetime achievement award from the British Society of Cinematographers in 1997 and the international award from the American Society of Cinematographers in 1998. He was nominated for four BAFTAs but never won.

He had just completed his autobiography, co-written by Tony Dalton, when he suffered a stroke in late December.

Francis is survived by his wife, Pamela Mann; sons Kevin, a producer, and Gareth; daughter Susanna; and six grandchildren.

[b]As cinematographer[/b]

Mine Own Executioner 1947
Room at the Top 1958
Sons and Lovers 1960
The Innocents 1961
The Elephant Man 1980
The French Lieutenant's Woman 1981
Dune 1984
Glory 1989
Cape Fear 1991
The Straight Story 1999

[b]As director[/b]

The Evil of Frankenstein Hammer, 1963
Dr. Terror's House of Horrors Amicus, 1964
Nightmare 1964
The Skull Amicus, 1965
Torture Garden Amicus, 1968
Dracula Has Risen from the Grave Hammer, 1968
Trog (Herman Cohen Productions, 1970
Tales From The Crypt Amicus,1972


http://www.variety.com/article/VR1117961465.html?categoryid=13&cs=1||03/22/07 at 10:55:06|mark_north Re: Film/TV reviews.|perkin2000|perkin2000@yahoo.co.uk|03/23/07 at 00:30:43|perkin2000|xx|0|86.4.194.34|Nice post. Good to see some quality old stuff honoured. Cheers.||